August 15 – India’s Independence Day

India gained its independence from the British on 15 August 1947. It was celebrated yesterday all over India with much pomp and reverence. Indians abroad, too, observe this day with respect, wherever they are.

India celebrates its independence with three other countries-South Korea and Bahrain and the Republic of Congo. Bahrain gained it on 15 August 1971. South Korea actually gained it from Japan on 13 August 1948. But the then authorities made the official date as 15 August 1945.

The Republic of Congo, whose capital is Brazzaville, gained its independence from France in 1960.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *